The Uncanny Valley

Notes on art, culture and preservation

From Glimmer Train, With Honor

with 2 comments

Short story writers have to learn to live through disappointments if they want to stay in the game. It has never been easy for me to accept an impersonal rejection slip from a literary publication, even though the super high volume of submissions that magazines receive makes that reality understandable. So whatever accolades I can get, I’ll take them.

Without further ado, the news: this week, the editors of Glimmer Train Stories, one of the most respected magazines in the US devoted entirely to short fiction, formally recognized my work. My story has been listed for Honorable Mention in the January 2010 competition for the magazine’s Very Short Fiction Award. I didn’t crack the Top 25, but I came very close — according to the editors, my story placed in the top five percent out of more than a thousand contest entries.

You should by all means check out the contest winners here. They are certainly more than deserving of the honors. (NB For the moment, you need to log into your account to see the list.)

Here’s the Honorable Mention:

2010-January-VSF-HONORABLE-MENTION-list

This close. I swear.

I am now more confident, though, that this story will find a home sooner than later, and I’ll provide an update when that happens. It is quite a thrill to be recognized in this manner. To all fellow writers out there, keep the faith.

Written by cwmote

March 26, 2010 at 2:43 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations! Way to go! The top 5% is something. I’m sure you’ll sell that story somewhere else.

    Trina

    March 26, 2010 at 9:50 pm

  2. nice! congrats.

    betsy von awesome

    March 29, 2010 at 8:11 am


Leave a Reply

